Contents

What will happen if you reset your iPhone?

It’s gonna erase personal files but don’t fret just yet. Your data will be easily restored if you backed it up before your iPhone needed to be reset.

The iPhone can be a great smartphone for most of the time. However, bugs on some apps and even the updates can ruin some functionalities that can lead to sudden iPhone shut down. You may find it necessary to reset your iPhone if you plan to sell it or if it behaves erratically and you’ve tried to fix it without success. Resetting your iPhone removes all of your personal information from the device, although it retains some of its programming.

What to do before you actually reset your iPhone?

Before you do a reset on your iPhone, do a “sync” to iCloud or your PC to protect your data.

  • Plug your iPhone into a charger and make sure the battery has a full charge.

  • You reset your iPhone through its “Settings” app.

  • When you tap “General,” the iPhone displays a long screen of options;

  • the “Reset” option is at the very bottom. Tap it and you see a list of different reset operations.

  • To perform a complete reset, tap the second item, “Erase All Content and Settings,” and then “Erase iPhone.”

  • Do not disturb the device until it finishes erasing data; this can take from a few minutes to over an hour.

  • After erasing its data, the iOS software restarts itself.

What will you lose when you reset your iPhone?

By resetting your iPhone, you remove any apps you installed along with your

  • personal data

  • notes

  • appointments

  • contacts

The iPhone returns to its original factory settings. If you’re selling your iPhone, you can do it with confidence after resetting it, as it no longer has your information.

What will you NOT lose when you reset your iPhone?

Reset does not remove the iOS software most recently installed on the iPhone, including any upgrades you may have downloaded. IOS is necessary to run the iPhone; without it, the device cannot perform fundamental operations such as turning itself on or connecting to the cellular phone network. Original, factory-installed apps such as Phone, Camera and Calendar also remain, though reset clears their records out.

Backups are important and essential

Data copied to your PC or Apple’s iCloud service during the sync operation remains when you reset the iPhone. If your phone has developed a problem that only a reset will fix, you can restore the data by doing a sync after the reset. This loads your apps and data into the phone, bringing it back to the state with which you are familiar. If you did not sync immediately before resetting, any data you may have added to the phone since the last sync, such as photos, music or new contacts, will be lost. If you do not have access to any sync data, you will have to rebuild your iPhone contacts, calendar and other personal information by hand.

What other reset alternatives do you have?

The iPhone offers reset options less drastic than “Erase all Content and Settings.” The “Reset all Settings” option keeps your apps and data but resets personal preferences and network settings. “Reset Network Settings” removes any Wi-Fi network information, including connection passwords. “Reset Location Warnings” causes all apps to ask your permission before they can access your location data. “Reset Keyboard Dictionary” removes the iPhone’s record of how you’ve responded to its typo warnings.

SYDNEY CBD REPAIR CENTRE IS OPEN 6 DAYS A WEEK
Weekdays: 10am – 6pm
Saturday: 10am – 6pm
Sunday : Closed

After Business Hours, By Appointment only.

CALL 8011 4119 or 043 777 4119
[email protected]