iPhone Tips: How activate disabled iPhone 7
Your iPhone 7 is now an important part of your daily routine. For some reason you forgot your passcode and now it’s disabled. What do you do? Read how.
We know that feeling. You just created your passcode and tried to unlock your iPhone 7 a few minutes later.
You forgot your passcode. Uh-oh.
Take a deep breathe and think carefully what the most possible unlock password will be. Remember that you can disable your iPhone by trying incorrect codes many times. Here’s your probability of disabling your iPhone 7.
Number of minutes your iPhone will be disabled for entering wrong passcodes
1-5 incorrect passcode entries in a row – No problem.
6 incorrect entries in a row – iPhone deactivated for 1 minute.
7 times wrong attempts – iPhone disabled for 5 minutes.
8 incorrect attempts – iPhone can’t be used for 15 minutes.
9 times wrong tabs – iPhone disabled for 60 minutes.
10 times incorrect attempts in a row – You will get “iPhone is disabled. Connect to iTunes” or the phone will completely erase itself for all data if Erase Data is enabled on the device.
Well, though you can’t unlock a disabled iPhone 7 that’s for sure. However, you can erase and restore disabled iPhone 7 from the last backup you made previously using iTunes.
Use iTunes to restore your iPhone from the last state it was working
Connect your iPhone to the computer you synced with.
Launch iTunes if it doesn’t open automatically. If asked for a passcode, put the iPhone in recovery mode by pressing and holding the Sleep/Wake and Volume Down buttons at the same time until you see the recovery mode screen on iPhone 7/iPhone 7 Plus.
Once iTunes detects your device, click Restore iPhone….
When you reach the Set Up screen while restoring your device, select Restore from iTunes backup. Choose the latest or the most relevant one to restore.
Please note that restoring from iTunes backup will erase all your current data on the phone and it will be replaced by the data of the backup that you are restoring from. So if you don’t want to lose any data, best to use FoneLab iOS System Recovery to help you enable your iPhone.
However, there is no way to back up the current data on the deactivated device.
So if you haven’t backed up your iPhone to iTunes or iCloud, you will lose all data on it after erasing.
People Also Asked – Check out our other iPhone Tips
- iPhone Tips: Reset Apple ID in an iPhone
- iPhone Tips: How to completely wipe your iPhone
- iPhone Tips: What to do if you drop your iPhone in water
- iPhone Tips: What happens to an iPhone in Lost Mode
- iPhone Tips: How to find someone else’s iPhone
- iPhone Tips: How to remove or install SIM card to iPhone 6
- iPhone Tips: How activate disabled iPhone 7
- iPhone Tips: Can a stolen iPHone be used again
- iPhone Tips: What to do if you can’t activate you iPhone
- iPhone Tips: How to activate a new iPhone 7